Eggman

EfitPortugalPA_468x574

Jane Tanner is often criticised on social media… because of the above picture.. aptly named Eggman.  Well let us put some facts to that picture.  The picture was actually drawn by Simon Russell who recreated the picture that was shown to him by the Portuguese Police.

The Daily Mail states on the 10th May 2007

This bizarre sketch captures why the police investigation into the abduction of Madeleine McCann has been so savagely condemned.

Officers have not released any photofit or artist’s impression of the suspected abductor.

But they have, apparently, shown a sketch like this to residents in Praia da Luz.

This bizarre sketch captures why the police investigation into the abduction of Madeleine McCann has been so savagely condemned.

Officers have not released any photofit or artist’s impression of the suspected abductor.

But they have, apparently, shown a sketch like this to residents in Praia da Luz.

One of them was Simon Russell, 40, runs a video store and Internet cafe in the former fishing village.

“I smiled when they showed it to me. What else could you do?” he said.

He said the sketch was so simple it was easy for him to recreate, and it is Mr Russell’s drawing that is used here.

EfitPortugalPA_468x574

He described it as looking like “an egg with a side parting”.

The Sun reported on the 20th April 2012 the following

Portuguese police issued this notorious ‘egg’ e-fit during the hunt for missing British youngster Madeleine McCann. Simon Russell, 40, told how police brought the faceless image to his internet shop to ask if any customers had been accessing suspicious websites. He said: “Basically I was looking at nothing more than an egg with brown hair and a side parting.” He drew it from memory to give the picture below.

The e-fit of a man, as drawn from memory by British born DVD shop owner Simon Russell after being shown it by police

Now Jane Tanner states in her Rogatory Interview (courtesy of the McCann Files)

4078    “Were you able to then show them sort of in real terms where you had seen the man by actually physically taking them and showing them?”
Reply    “No, they didn’t, they didn’t take me, the only time I ever showed them where I saw it is when (inaudible), but the chap on the stairs here again, brought me back in the middle of the night from, erm, erm, from doing the sketch, so this was like the second, the night after, so this was quite late, it was like three o’clock in the morning, erm, after coming, well about three o’clock in the morning after coming back from trying to do the egg with hair sketch, I said to him then.  I said ‘Can I show you where I saw this person’, because the Press had all gone by that stage and the rest of the day there’d been obviously quite a lot of Press there, but they’d all gone.  So I actually took him then and said, you know, ‘This is where, this is where I saw him’, but at that time in the night all the, all the, you know, I, I honestly can’t remember what I, you know, exactly what I said, but, but I just said I’d seen somebody and they just sort of wrote it down and that was, that was it really”.
4078    “Just to comment on the egg with hair sketch and I know what you are referring to because I think you have mentioned it to me before, but because of the lack of software they produced this image of”.
Reply    “Yeah, they couldn’t do a face”.
4078    “It was a blank face, wasn’t it?”
Reply    “Yeah”.
4078    “With hair on?”
Reply    “With just a bit of”.
4078    “And you refer to that as the egg with hair?”
Reply    “That’s the egg with hair, yeah, sorry”.
4078    “Well I knew what it was but I thought somebody later on listening to this wouldn’t”.

Jane Tanner also states earlier in her Rogatory Interview the following:

4078    “Right.  And when you first became aware of this man holding the child, if you can try and picture in your mind, as I am sure you have done over and over again, and start from the top of his head and work your way down and tell me what he looked like?”
Reply    “You see this is where now I’m really, I don’t even know whether it’s worth doing this, because there’s been so much, since then I’ve had the, when they took me round for the surveillance to look at, and I’m guessing now it’s MURAT they wanted me to look at and, you know, all the other bits and bobs, I really don’t know, but I think I’d prefer just to stick with what I said in my original statement, in terms of the, because even, I mean, this is coming back to the sketch, even when I did the sketch, by that stage, you know, things were, were murky, I needed to that sketch that first night, I mean, they took me in to do the sketch, but they only had, erm, front facing software, so you know, and at that point I said, you know, is there, can I do, because the clothes and everything was the thing was the thing that was the most in my mind then and I can remember saying to the chap I met on the stairs earlier, I think it’s (inaudible), is it?”
4078    “Yeah”.
Reply    “Because he took me in the car back and forth and I can remember saying to him on the way back ‘Look, is there a way I can do a sketch with clothes, you know, do you have software or any way that I can do a sketch of the clothes or a side, a side view’.  And he sort of said ‘No, we don’t have that feasible, you know, feasibility or availability’.  And I said then ‘Can I do that when I go back to the UK’, you know, because at that point it was in my head and it would have been, and they were the bits that I think would have been recognisable to get down on paper.  But at that point it was like ‘Oh no, we can’t do that, we don’t work in that way’.  Which I can understand and, you know, now obviously I think ‘Oh I should have pushed and really pushed’, but at that point you rely on, you don’t, you know, you’re just in such shock and you just think ‘Okay that’s the way things do’, but”.
4078    “Yeah”.

So the Facts are:

  1. The picture used by the media was actually drawn by Simon Russell and NOT Jane Tanner as many people believe.
  2. The picture is faceless due to the Portuguese Police only having front-facing software. As Jane Tanner clearly states she only saw the side view of this person and therefore could not correctly do a front facing sketch.
  3. The Photofit was NOT Issued by the Portuguese Police to the public, and hence the drawing made by Simon Russell to the media, showing what the Police had shown him.
  4. The McCanns did not release this sketch.
  5. Jane Tanner was prepared to do a sketch when she returned to the UK and the appropriate software was available but the Portuguese Police said they didn’t work that way.
  6. Jane Tanner clearly gives a description of what he was wearing, how tall he was, his hair length.

