So Spudgun goes spouting

Yes Spudgun goes spouting about Jane Tanner and her photofit of the man she saw carrying Madeleine.  Yes and in true style it is nothing of great importance other than to jeer at Jane Tanner because of the photofit description she gave the PJ,  that looks like “an egg with hair”.

Had Spudgun bothered to read Jane Tanners Rogatory Interview he would have read about how she was quizzed about this e-fit by Leicester Police and why the picture ended up looking like “an egg with hair”, it is simple really the PJ did NOT have the software to do side face recognition.

Relevant Sections of Rogatory Interview

Interviewing Officer (Screenshot)

00.28.04 4078 “Right. And when you first became aware of this man holding the child, if you can try and picture in your mind, as I am sure you have done over and over again, and start from the top of his head and work your way down and tell me what he looked like?”

Jane Tanner’s Reply

“You see this is where now I’m really, I don’t even know whether it’s worth doing this, because there’s been so much, since then I’ve had the, when they took me round for the surveillance to look at, and I’m guessing now it’s MURAT they wanted me to look at and, you know, all the other bits and bobs, I really don’t know, but I think I’d prefer just to stick with what I said in my original statement, in terms of the, because even, I mean, this is coming back to the sketch, even when I did the sketch, by that stage, you know, things were, were murky, I needed to that sketch that first night, I mean, they took me in to do the sketch, but they only had, erm, front facing software, so you know, and at that point I said, you know, is there, can I do, because the clothes and everything was the thing was the thing that was the most in my mind then and I can remember saying to the chap I met on the stairs earlier, I think it’s (inaudible), is it?”

Officer

 “Yeah”

Jane Tanner (Screenshot)

“Because he took me in the car back and forth and I can remember saying to him on the way back ‘Look, is there a way I can do a sketch with clothes, you know, do you have software or any way that I can do a sketch of the clothes or a side, a side view’. And he sort of said ‘No, we don’t have that feasible, you know, feasibility or availability’. And I said then ‘Can I do that when I go back to the UK’, you know, because at that point it was in my head and it would have been, and they were the bits that I think would have been recognisable to get down on paper. But at that point it was like ‘Oh no, we can’t do that, we don’t work in that way’. Which I can understand and, you know, now obviously I think ‘Oh I should have pushed and really pushed’, but at that point you rely on, you don’t, you know, you’re just in such shock and you just think ‘Okay that’s the way things do’, but”

Officer

“Yeah”

Further on in the interview this subject is further discussed (Screenshot)

Officer

01.02.07 4078 “Just to comment on the egg with hair sketch and I know what you are referring to because I think you have mentioned it to me before, but because of the lack of  software they produced this image of”.

Jane Tanner

“Yeah, they couldn’t do a face”

Officer

 “It was a blank face, wasn’t it?”

Jane Tanner

 “Yeah”

Officer

 “With hair on?”

Jane Tanner

 “With just a bit of”.

Officer

 “And you refer to that as the egg with hair?

Jane Tanner

“That’s the egg with hair, yeah, sorry

Officer

“Well I knew what it was but I thought somebody later on listening to this wouldn’t”.

Jane Tanner

“Yeah.  No, so that’s”.

Surely they had someone who could draw, if not why the hell didn’t they get someone in to draw a picture of the side of the man Jane Tanner saw, instead of parading around Praia da Luz asking people if they saw “an egg with hair”.

So may I suggest before people go spouting another load of b0llox that they read the files and they will see exactly why the “egg with hair” appeared.  It was because the PJ DID NOT HAVE THE SOFTWARE TO DO A SIDE FACIAL RECOGNITION PHOTOFIT.

